Tapping Maples on the Gulf Coast

This is just a freebie.  I have a “real” post coming up later but I thought I’d share with you something I discovered serendipitously this morning.

It’s a beautiful day so I was outside doing a bit of gardening work.  The maples are devoid of leaves so I thought I’d take the opportunity to prune a few unruly branches on the red maple.

Lo and behold!  Before I finished, I noticed drippings and oozings.  The sap was running!  Now, you can tap any maple tree but you really need a sugar maple to be able to get premium maple syrup.  The trees should also be at least four inches in diameter before you tap them.  So, if you have a little stand of maples and a hankering for maple syrup–get out there and tap away!

Lehman’s has all the supplies you’ll ever need for tapping!

Leave a comment