Shade Plants: For the Win

Shade is not something that comes naturally to us here at BrightHaven.  However, we do have a few spaces in the front yard that have grown shady by the planting of a river birch.  The soil in these shady areas is amazing.  Worms dance and frolic all the time in these beds.  I felt I had to give them something better to do than just loiter.

And, it just so happened that I came across a little infogram on Pinterest, showing which vegetable plants would do well in the shade.  The picture depicted 15 vegetable shade plants but I just picked out the ones I liked best and that it was time to plant on the Gulf Coast.

Curious yet?  Here they are:

  1. kale
  2. beets
  3. parsley
  4. cilantro
  5. scallions
  6. lettuce
  7. garlic
  8. spinach
  9. bok choi
  10. mustard greens
  11. chard
  12. carrots
  13. parsnips
  14. arugula
  15. potatoes

I bought seed for the carrots, bok choi, beets and mustard greens so they are not quite in the ground yet.  And the garlic?  I normally plant garlic as my birthday present to myself.  Just didn’t happen this year.  I’m still telling myself I will plant it.  We’ll see, won’t we?

Marigold and chard

Marigold and chard

petunias and marigolds

petunias and marigolds

Calendula and savoy cabbage

Calendula and savoy cabbage

Calendula and savoy cabbage

Calendula and savoy cabbage

Leave a Reply

