Purples after the rain

Though I was highly tempted to entitle this post Purple Rain, it’s really not about purple rain. It’s really about purple things in the garden after the rain. Hence, the more appropriate title.

We awoke at about three this morning to torrential rain. My first thought? Oh good, I won’t have to water tomorrow! My second thought? Yikes! I left my (so many things) outside! Then, I missed the cat. Poor kitty was outside in the terrible downpour. Good thing he LOVES being towel-dried. About thirty minutes later, completely soaked, we’re ready for bed again. This morning, despite the occasional drip, the world is new. And what do we see in the garden?

HOT little pepper!

HOT little pepper!

Purple Pepper

Purple Pepper

We had a garden day with some of the kids several months ago. They were part of a group that needed to earn a gardening/outdoors badge. So, they came to BrightHaven to learn a few things. One of our projects was to plant these bell peppers. Great job, everybody!

Castor Bean

Castor Bean

Though I’ve been wanting a castor bean, I can’t say that I wanted one right here. I’m not sure where it came from. I’ve never had the seeds that I can remember!

Black eyed peas

Black eyed peas

I don’t suppose these really count as purple but this is such a pretty bush I wanted to show it off. It’s now sending off runners, the healthy thing. I initially planted this pea from a bag of black eyed peas I was cooking.

???

???

Who knows what this flower is? (Hint: the leaf below comes from the same plant!)

Massive leaf

Massive leaf

Just to give you an idea of how large this leaf is, I placed my hand in the middle.

Any guesses as to what it is?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

