Beans are coming along nicely

Black eyed peas

Black eyed peas

So far, the black-eyed peas are proving themselves to be the stars of the garden.  I believe every seed I planted popped right up.  I’ll have to get busy thinning and transplanting those little beauties as I want every black eyed pea I can get!  That’s a speckled butter bean seedling that you see to the right of the black eyed peas.  They grew really well for me the first year.  Not doing so great this year, for some reason…

Glimp beans

Glimp beans

The other front runners are the glimp beans that I received from Mr. Hollis.  They have proved quite vigorous, almost springing from the ground.  They would probably be great for a child’s garden as they sprouted within two days.  Of course, the greenhouse weather and the tropical storms that came through last week could certainly have helped their cause!

Milkweed just waiting for monarchs!

Milkweed just waiting for monarchs!

Couldn’t resist showing you all the beautiful milkweed that has naturalized (but not taken over) in our yard.  The swallowtails are finally coming around, hummingbirds are back in our yard.  Now we’re waiting for these guys…

Pocket melon

Pocket melon

And the second pocket melon.  I say it is the second but there were actually many others between this one and our first harvested fruit.  Some crazy bug attacked the vines and killed the whole thing!  I’m guessing it’s some type of squash vine borer.  Did not make me happy at all!  Not content with boring into the vines, the larvae also bored into the fruit and ate it up from the inside.  In retribution, I fed every single one of them to the fishies!

And, for those of you who may be wondering, the scent is wonderful!  Almost too sweet for me but definitely present and pleasant.  Smells a good bit like a very ripe cantaloupe and keeps for a long time.  The seeds are easy to harvest and I’m also hoping for some volunteers next season!

Leave a Reply

