Fairy garden houses

I have been noticing that the most popular post here on Little Green Bees is related to fairy gardening. For those of you looking for a good fairy garden workshop in East Texas, take a look at Blue Moon Gardens. You’ll find their link to the right of this post. Another really great source for plants for a fairy garden is Mulberry Creek Herb Farm. I mentioned them in my last post, even gave them a call one day. Let me tell you, they are super nice folks and I just may eventually break down and buy some of that pixie basil. It is SO hard to find and can’t be grown from seed! Anyway, they have a superb collection of plants just for fairy gardens–and furniture to go in these gardens!

I have always loved tiny things and the idea of putting said tiny things in a fairy garden setting just makes me four kinds of happy. So, I have been collecting my own fairy houses and garden items. Last Christmas, I came upon the idea of using creche figures to adorn rock gardens, terrariums, moss gardens and so forth. The little figures look ever so much like garden statues. I’m always finding solitary shepherds and inn keepers in thrift stores so thought I could put these lonely guys to good use.

I don’t have photos of my “statues” but I do have some lovely shots of the fairy houses. Take a look at what I have so far!

GnomeHome back view

GnomeHome back view

Sam and Rosie's Cottage

Sam and Rosie's Cottage

Sam and Rosie aeriel view

Sam and Rosie aeriel view

ETA: here are more of the fairy garden items I was telling you about…

Fairy house box

Fairy house box

This is one of those little hinged boxes that has a name but I can’t think of it right now.

Toad stool

Toad stool

This little toadstool is handmade.  Perfect even to the gills on the underside of the cap.

Henry the fairy garden gnome

Henry the fairy garden gnome

Of course fairies have garden gnomes!  They have gardens, they have gnomes.

He's fine.

He's fine.

Although he looks like a little person trapped inside an apothecary jar, I assure you he is quite alright.  Thanks for your concern.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

